In Arizona, car seat laws require that children under 8 years old and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system, which can include a car seat or booster seat, when traveling in a motor vehicle. It’s essential for parents and caregivers to follow these guidelines to ensure the safety of children while on the road.
No matter what state you’re in, it’s important to know the car seat laws. Each state has different requirements for how children must be secured while riding in a vehicle. In Arizona, these laws are no different. Keep reading to learn more about the car seat requirements in the Grand Canyon State.
What are the child safety seat laws in Arizona?
According to Arizona law, all children under five years old must be properly secured in a child safety seat (including both cars and trucks). There are several different types of child safety seats, rear-facing infant seats, forward-facing toddler seats, and booster seats. Depending on your child’s age and size, you will need to use a different type of seat.
It is recommended that infants ride rear-facing until they are at least two years old or reach the maximum weight limit for their particular seat (whichever comes first). Toddlers should ride forward-facing once they outgrow their rear-facing seat. However, they should remain in a harnessed car seat until they reach the maximum weight or height limit.
Once kids have outgrown, they can then move to a booster seat. It is important to note that all children under the age of eight should ride in a booster seat regardless of their height or weight. Children who are taller than four feet nine inches and weigh over 80 pounds can graduate from using a booster completely.
Moreover, it is always safest for kids under thirteen years old to ride buckled up in some form – whether that means using just a lap/shoulder belt or being seated in an actual car seat/booster with both restraints (lap/shoulder belt and forward Facing Car Seats(LATCH)).
There are certain circumstances where exceptions – such as if there is not enough room for another passenger due to medical reasons or if all other seating positions are occupied by individuals who also meet one of these exceptions themselves. But generally speaking, it is required by law that any person operating a motor vehicle have all passengers under the age of five properly secured in a child safety seat.
If you have more questions about current Arizona car seat laws or which type of seat is best for your child, please consult a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician (CPST).
Quick View: Current Arizona car seat laws
|Seat Type||Child Age and Weight|
|Arizona law rear-facing car seat||0-2 year infant|
|Front-facing car seat laws in Arizona/|
Forward-facing car seat laws AZ
|Toddlers who are outgrown a rear-facing seat|
|Arizona law booster seat requirements||Under age 8 and who are 4 feet 9 inches taller with 80 pounds weight|
Common myths about car seat safety in Arizona
There are many myths surrounding car seat safety, particularly when it comes to the law itself. For example, some people believe that as long as their child is buckled into a regular adult lap/shoulder belt, they will be fine during an accident – this is not true!
A lap/shoulder belt alone does not provide enough support for a child’s body, especially during a high-impact collision such as a head-on crash.
Additionally, booster seats are often thought of as being “just for small children” but actually anyone under the height of 4 feet 9 inches should be using one according to experts; even if your child seems “too big” for a booster, it’s always better to err on the side of caution when it comes to their safety while riding in the car!
More asking questions by parents in Arizona about car seats:
Did Arizona change car seat laws?
Yes, car seat laws were changed in Arizona in 2019. The new law requires all children under the age of 2 to be secured in a rear-facing car seat. Prior to this change, only infants under the age of 1 had to be secured in a rear-facing car seat.
Arizona car seat replacement law
As of January 1, 2020, all car seats in Arizona must be replaced every 8 years.
Car seat laws in Tucson, AZ
Tucson car seat laws are very specific when it comes to the safety of children while riding in a vehicle. All drivers must ensure that all passengers under the age of 16 are properly restrained in a manner that is appropriate for their height, weight and age. Drivers can be fined up to $500 if they are found to be in violation of these laws.
Arizona 10 years 100 pounds booster seat law
Arizona’s booster seat law requires children under 10 years and weighing less than 100 pounds to be properly restrained in a booster seat.
Front seat passenger laws in Arizona
According to Arizona law, all front seat passengers must be properly restrained by a seatbelt while the vehicle is in motion.
The bottom line on keeping your child safe in the car
At the end of the day, parents just want what’s best for their children – and that includes keeping them safe while riding in cars together whether it’s running errands around town or going on long road trips.
Following Arizona’s lenient yet recommended guidelines surrounding the proper use of child restraints can help give you peace of mind knowing that you’re doing everything possible to protect your little ones while driving.
And if you ever have any questions or doubts about the installation, fit, or use of car seats/boosters, don’t hesitate to reach out to one of the many available resources for help!